Home » Gaming News and Events » Playstation Hits 20 – Memories of a Playstation Gamer

Playstation Hits 20 – Memories of a Playstation Gamer

Playstation Hits 20 – Memories of a Playstation Gamer

 playstation-20anniPlaystation Hits 20 – Memories of a Playstation Gamer

 

20 years ago, that’s December 1994 my dear readers, Sony released the Playstation console in Japan (and the rest of the world, soon after). 2 decades later and the console has spawned off 3 successors, 2 handheld devices and many more. This short post chronicles the first time I played the console, its ‘dying days’ and the time I called it quits.

 

The first time I had my hands on a PS1 controller was when I was in grade 4. The first games I was addicted to playing in that console were two fighting games: Tekken 3 and Mortal Kombat Trilogy. Eventually I got hooked on playing other games between 1998 and 1999, specifically the Resident Evil series (That’s, RE 2, RE 2: Dual Shock Version and RE 3). There were games that I KNEW would be my favorite games to play in the Playstation (Metal Gear Solid, WWF Attitude and the Final Fantasy series). However, there were also THOSE games you least expect that you’d eventually fall in love with playing on the PS 1 (I’m looking at you Suikoden 2, Monster Rancher 2 and Harvest Moon).

 

However, I can’t help but feel like I betrayed the system one time when we had a Sega Dreamcast console. I still played the PS1 throughout that time but not as much as the Dreamcast. The dying days included me playing Megaman Legends 2, ECW Hardcore Revolution and replaying RE 3. Sadly, the console finally died out on me around 2005. By then, I already had the PS2 for 2 years…but every now and then I’d stick play the original Playstation for ECW and Harvest Moon (YAY FARMING!) While the system is dead in water, I still keep it around my house as a remembrance of the ‘good ol days’.

 
 

ps1My PS Console w/ Captain Marvelous

Happy 20 years, Playstation!

 
 

Playstation Hits 20 – Memories of a Playstation Gamer

Leave a Reply

